Meet the Team

Building a team of exceptional people is key to our success. We take pride in the enthusiasm, motivation and focus of our staff, our vision and our values. Our team delivers first class exhibits, events and experiences with a personal approach.

Jerry Ganfield

Ryan Gillespie

Interim Executive Director
Board President

Daniel Moeckly

Archives, Exhibits & Technology Manager

Dan graduated from Iowa State University in 2004 with a Double Degree in Philosophy and History. Dan interned at the Owatonna Arts Center with Silvan Durben. He established their collection management systems and worked on exhibit fabrication and installation. In 2007, Dan was contracted by both the Minnesota State Public School Orphanage Museum as an Administrative Assistant and the Steele County Historical Society as a casual contract archivist. In 2012 he left the orphanage museum to accept full time employment at the SCHS.

  • Email-icon

MaryAnne Higgins

Volunteer, Tour & Events Manager

MaryAnne has spent her career working in the recreation field where she gained experience working with children and adults. She attended Winona State University and has a B.A. in Recreation and Leisure Studies. MaryAnne has been an active member in the Owatonna community volunteering in numerous organizations, mentoring YSL students and was on the planning committee to help with the development of Owatonna High School Options program. Through these various experiences, she has honed her skills working with others and leading by example. She was nominated for the Owatonna Business Women 2015 Woman of Achievement Award.

  • Email-icon

Board of Directors

Executive Committee

Ryan Gillespie, President

Elizabeth Anselmo, Vice President
Jerry Ganfield, Treasurer

Janet Mealey, Secretary

Char Ost, Member At Large

Paul Swenson, Member At Large

Board Members

Dave Effertz

Dan Gormon

Ken Henricksen

Keith Holman

Stefan Langendam

Jerry Lewison

Bob Nahlovsky

M. Vicki Olivo

Diane Wilson

County Commissioner Liaison

Rick Gnemi

© 2018 by Steele County Historical Society, 1700 Austin Road, Owatonna, MN.  507-451-1420 Proudly created with